Congratulations to our 2022 Scholars, Regina Batiste, Darrick Williams and Sharon Alitema!

Honoring Our Scholars

This annual event is a chance to recognize the current AFO Scholarship recipients. These awards annually recognize Oregon architecture students at Portland State University, University of Oregon and Portland Community College, for their design promise, commitment to community service, and desire to make a positive impact on the architecture profession.

Held each spring, the celebration brings together around 150 leaders in the designed and built industries to honor the history of these prestigious awards and introduce the current awardees. The event raises funds for the annual monetary awards while providing networking opportunities for current and past scholarship recipients and thought-provoking stories of how leaders in the built environment are contributing to the community.

Watch an interview with our 2021 Hatfield Scholar, Josymar Rodriguez and 2003 Hatfield Award recipient, Nate McCoy.

Sponsor the AFO Scholars Reception

AFO Executive Director Claire Blaylock & 2019 Hatfield Scholars, Zach Sherrod & Mohamed Fakhry
Keynote speaker Alice Wiewel at the 2019 Hatfield Luncheon
Past Scholars at the 2019 Hatfield Luncheon
2019 Hatfield Scholars Luncheon
AFO Board Member Mark Peckover and 2019 Hatfield Scholars, Mohamed Fakhry & Zach Sherrod

Scholar Spotlight

Josymar Rodriguez
2021 Hatfield Scholar, University of Oregon

“Creating nurturing spaces for all is the framework in which I strive to build my relations, studies, and service practice. I believe the idea of architecture as nurture can change the way we approach design questions, set the path for our profession to grow in a new direction where women and minorities take the lead, and develop more dignified living environments.” Learn more about our 2021 Hatfield Scholar.