Congratulations to our 2021 Scholar, Josymar Rodriguez!

Honoring Our Scholars

This annual luncheon is a chance to recognize the current Senator Mark O. Hatfield Architectural Award recipient. Established in 1998 to annually recognize an Oregon architecture student for their design promise and commitment to community service, the award is given to a student enrolled in an undergraduate or graduate architecture program at Portland State University or the University of Oregon.

Held each spring, the luncheon brings together around 150 leaders in the designed and built industries to honor the history of this prestigious award and introduce the current awardee. The luncheon raises funds for the annual monetary award while providing networking opportunities for current and past scholarship recipients and thought-provoking stories of how leaders in the built environment are contributing to the community.


Thank you to our 2021 Hatfield Lunch Sponsors

Event Sponsor


Sustaining Sponsor

Watch an interview with our 2021 Scholar, Josymar Rodriguez and 2003 Hatfield Award recipient, Nate McCoy.

Give to the Hatfield Award Fund supporting Oregon architecture students

AFO Executive Director Claire Blaylock & 2019 Scholars, Zach Sherrod & Mohamed Fakhry
Keynote speaker Alice Wiewel at the 2019 Hatfield Luncheon
Past Scholars at the 2019 Hatfield Luncheon
2019 Hatfield Scholars Luncheon
AFO Board Member Mark Peckover and 2019 Scholars, Mohamed Fakhry & Zach Sherrod

Scholar Spotlight

Josymar Rodriguez
2021 Hatfield Scholar, University of Oregon

“Creating nurturing spaces for all is the framework in which I strive to build my relations, studies, and service practice. I believe the idea of architecture as nurture can change the way we approach design questions, set the path for our profession to grow in a new direction where women and minorities take the lead, and develop more dignified living environments.” Learn more about our 2021 Hatfield Scholar.