Learn more about Honored Citizen

Announcing Oregon’s Next

June 3, 2024

With great excitement, AFO is proud to announce Oregon’s Next.

Oregon’s Next recognizes the achievements and community contributions that emerging professionals in the AEC industry are making. Today’s leadership knows that future opportunities and challenges can be met with the energy of our bright and dedicated rising stars in our field. By awarding Oregon’s Next at Honored Citizen, we can both recognize the lifelong achievements of our honorees while showcasing our support for promising generations to come.

Call for 2024 Nominations

Oregon’s Next candidates are nominated by members of Oregon’s architecture, engineering, construction, and design community. Nominations will be reviewed by our selection committee, who will determine 3-5 awardees. Oregon’s Next will receive their award at the annual Honored Citizen celebration in the fall.

We welcome you to nominate individuals for Oregon’s Next. As we collectively work towards welcoming more voices into the architecture, engineering, and construction fields, who stands out as embodying this welcoming, inclusive mindset?

Nomination Criteria:

  • Reside and/or work in the state of Oregon
  • Have 10 years or less experience working in the architecture, engineering, construction, and design field (excluding school)
  • Show exemplary dedication to community impact (ex. volunteer work, service on boards or committees, workplace culture advancement, professional development focused on community)
  • Embody collaboration, access, equity, and inclusion in personal and professional work
  • Exhibit promise in work ethic and professional acumen

To nominate your pick for Oregon’s Next, submit a form with a description of your nominee that describes why they are eligible for this award. Please include your name, place of work, and relationship to the nominee. We welcome both self-nominations and nominations from someone else.

We recognize that community impact can mean many things to individuals and communities and welcome stories of impact beyond what we have identified above. We also encourage statewide recognition and hope to see nominations of individuals residing throughout Oregon.

Submit a Nomination

Nominations are accepted until June 30, 2024

Nomination Deadline: June 30, 2024