Apply for the award by Friday, January 25, 2019

Supporting Oregon Architecture Students

AFO’s 1998 Honored Citizen, Senator Mark O. Hatfield, remains one of Oregon’s most respected and admired statesmen. His contributions to Oregon and the country are many, including funding for dozens of important public buildings throughout Oregon. Senator Hatfield passed away in 2011.

In honor of the late Senator’s own interest in architectural design and commitment to service, AFO’s Senator Mark O. Hatfield Architectural Award was established in 1998 to annually recognize an Oregon architecture student for their design promise and community service.

Applying for the Award

AFO encourages Oregon architecture students with a passion for serving their community through thoughtful, collaborative, community centered design to apply for the Hatfield Architectural Award. An essay and portfolio of work must represent candidates’ commitment to community service and design excellence.

$4,000 Scholarship
Apply by Friday, January 25, 2019 to be considered for the 2019 award


  • Undergraduate or graduate student currently enrolled in University of Oregon or Portland State University architecture program
  • Commitment to community service outside of school and relative to applicant’s community
  • Demonstrated ability for quality architectural design and academic achievement

Application Requirements

  • 2019 Hatfield Application Cover Sheet
  • One-page essay outlining how you aspire to use architecture and design to address a challenge facing either your specific community or Oregonians in general
  • Design portfolio with three examples of architectural work – maximum of 3 pages per project
    1. Must include one project completed individually (not a group project)
    2. If including group projects, describe applicant’s role
    3. If applicable, please include a project illustrating an architectural design that responds to a community need or challenge
  • Two letters of recommendation addressing candidate’s achievement and potential in design and commitment to community service – letters must not exceed one page and must be emailed directly by the recommender to
    1. One letter from architectural faculty
    2. One letter from a community member
  • Current transcript with GPA
  • Deadline: Friday, January 25, 2019, 11:59pm – send all application components in one PDF no larger than 5MB to (except letters of recommendation which should be sent directly from the recommender)

Portfolios, essays, transcripts and reference letters are evaluated by a committee of AFO board members and representatives. Applicants will be notified of the selection committee’s decision by the end of February. Undergraduate and graduate students are evaluated based on the merits of their experience.

The selected applicant will be asked to attend our annual Hatfield Scholars Luncheon to receive their award.

Previous applicants who have not received an award are welcomed and encouraged to reapply.

2018 – Lisa Patterson
2017 – William Chandler
2015 – Genevieve Wasser & Matthew Rusnac
2014 – Kiara Galicinao
2013 – Laura Levenberg
2012 – Annie Ledbury
2011 – April Ng & Cameron P Cole
2010 – Amy Perenchio
2008 – Lorraine Glynn
2007 – Adrienne Leverette
2006 – Matthew Brown
2006 – Merit Awards – Daniel Toole & Emily Knudsen
2004 – Matthew Brown
2003 – Richard A. Meakins & Nathaniel McCoy
2002 – Trevor W. Lewis
2001 – Eric C. Black
2000 – Benjamin P. Gates
1999 – John F. Lopez
1998 – Timothy D. Keil

Scholar Spotlight

Willy Chandler
2017 Hatfield Scholar Portland State Un.

“The scholarship enabled me to take part in a design build trip to Ecuador with PSU and the Center for Public Interest Design. The recognition also certainly played a part in my securing a job with Architectural Nexus, an office grounded in a philosophy of environmental stewardship and social equity.”

Congrats to our 2018 Hatfield Scholar, Lisa Patterson

2018 Scholar Lisa Patterson & keynote speaker Kevin Cavenaugh at the Hatfield Scholars Luncheon

Lisa Patterson, architecture graduate student at Portland State University and 2018 Hatfield Scholar, expresses perseverance toward community centered design, exemplary technical and artistic skill and a thoughtful approach to design execution.

Her experience at PSU has included:

  • Vast engagement in the research, community engagement and design of the Kenton Women’s Village, in which she lead the design of the modular kitchen and shower facilities – which are highlighted by the residents as their favorite feature.
  • She was selected and served as a Student Fellow for the Center For Public Interest Design, and through this role helped develop a community-based transit guide to serve underserved communities in North and South Sacramento.

Hatfield Scholars Luncheon


Candice Agahan
Admin & Program Assistant

Contribute to the Hatfield Architectural Award Fund