Learn more about our 2024 Scholars

Honoring Our Scholars

This annual event is a chance to recognize the current AFO Scholarship recipients. Our four scholarship awards annually recognize Oregon architecture students at Portland State University, University of Oregon, and Portland Community College, for their design promise, commitment to community service, and desire to make a positive impact on the architecture profession.

Every spring, over 150 leaders in the design and building industry gather to recognize these achievements and to hear from an inspiring featured speaker. The goals of this reception are to increase the visibility of this scholarship program, institute a higher annual monetary award, provide networking opportunities for scholarship recipients, finalists, and students, and provide inspiring stories of how leaders in the built environment are contributing to the community.

2024 Scholars

Congratulations to our 2024 Scholars! Thank you to everyone who joined us at our Scholars Reception on May 16 at the PCC Opportunity Center to celebrate our Scholars and contribute to the growth of our scholarship program. All funds raised support the growth of AFO’s scholarship awards. Help AFO support the future generation of design professionals by donating today.

In the past couple of years, our scholarship program for Oregon architecture and art students has grown from one award to five awards: Hatfield Architectural Award, William Hart Scholarship, Tsagaglalal (She Who Watches) Scholarship, PCC Architecture + Interior Design Scholarship, and our newest addition, the Hermann Colas, Jr. Legacy Scholarship. Learn more about AFO scholarships.

2024 Scholars Reception
Thursday, May 16, 5-7pm
PCC Opportunity Center
4299 NE Killingsworth St, Portland, 97218

Event Sponsors


Sponsor the AFO Scholars Reception

Watch an interview with our 2021 Hatfield Scholar, Josymar Rodriguez and 2003 Hatfield Award recipient, Nate McCoy.

AFO Executive Director Claire Blaylock & 2019 Hatfield Scholars, Zach Sherrod & Mohamed Fakhry
Keynote speaker Alice Wiewel at the 2019 Hatfield Luncheon
Past Scholars at the 2019 Hatfield Luncheon
2019 Hatfield Scholars Luncheon
AFO Board Member Mark Peckover and 2019 Hatfield Scholars, Mohamed Fakhry & Zach Sherrod

Scholar Spotlight

Josymar Rodriguez
2021 Hatfield Scholar, University of Oregon

“Creating nurturing spaces for all is the framework in which I strive to build my relations, studies, and service practice. I believe the idea of architecture as nurture can change the way we approach design questions, set the path for our profession to grow in a new direction where women and minorities take the lead, and develop more dignified living environments.” Learn more about AFO Scholarships.